top of page

14th town councillor elected

21 September 2021

Council Services, News

Diss Town Council is very pleased to announce that it now has a full complement of 14 councillors.  

Fair Green resident, Charlotte Valori, was co-opted onto the council at a Full Council meeting on 15th September. 

A high-level PA/Executive Assistant, former MP Diary Secretary and Caseworker, and freelance opera and theatre critic, Councillor Valori moved to Diss in 2019.

“I grew up in the Waveney Valley and, when I moved to Diss a few years ago, was immediately struck by the character of Fair Green,” said Councillor Valori. “I became fascinated by the history of Diss and, as I researched it more, I realised what a remarkable place Diss is. It’s a truly special place: vibrant, full of life, and very welcoming.”

An active volunteer in the community, Councillor Valori is Deputy Chairman of the Fair Green Neighbourhood Association and life-long volunteer for the Pony Club. During lockdown, she demonstrated her commitment to helping others in the community in various ways.

“In the early days of the pandemic, I joined my neighbours on Fair Green to form a small community action group dedicated to supporting Fair Green residents. I also trained with the charity Change Grow Live, to become a volunteer Independent Visitor for children in care in Norfolk. I started doing this because I’m hoping to foster or adopt one day.”

Councillor Valori also formed part of the committee that worked towards installing a Beacon of Hope in the town park. And it was this involvement that sparked her interest in joining the council.

“During lockdown, I joined what became the Beacon Committee and I’ve really enjoyed watching the Beacon of Hope project take shape over the course of many Zoom meetings,” said Councillor Valori. “Being part of the Beacon Committee has been fun, challenging and exciting, and made me think seriously about joining Diss Town Council.”

We would like to warmly welcome Charlotte onto the council

You can find out more about Councillor Valori and other members of the council on our website.

14th town councillor elected
bottom of page