Every year, Diss Town Council awards the Honoured Citizen and Junior Good Citizen to members of our community who have dedicated their time for the good of others. Nominees range from community group leaders to that neighbour who is always ready to lend a hand to help others!

If you’d like to nominate someone for the awards, download a nomination formThe deadline for nominations is 30th March. The awards are presented at the Annual Town Meeting, which takes place in April or May.

To view the rules for nominating a Junior Good Citizen or Honoured Citizen, please click here.

This year’s Honoured Citizen awards were presented to the late Harold Rackham and Elizabeth Dewhurst who were nominated for their long spanning support of our community, both in the voluntary and business sectors.  But we’ve been recognising our community heroes since 1994 ….

2017 Honoured Citizen Award winners; Beth Dewhurst and Harold Rackham.

Honoured Citizens of Diss

Charles Gardener (1994), Henry Judd (1995), Arthur Wood JP (1996), David Bell & Reginald Wright (1998), Gladys Hancock (1999), Jack Lee (2000), Denis Clarke (2001), The Revd. Ben Sasada (2002), Geoffrey Tebble (2004), Francis Bradley (2005), Michael Booty (2006), Clifford Bird & Stuart Ballantyne (2007), Sue Brazier (2008), Basil Abbott (2009), Anne Dutton (2010), Doreen Collins (2011), Alan Rowe (2012), William (aka Billy) Turner (2013), no nominations received in 2014, Suzanne Kayne (2015), Pete Gillings (2016), Harold Rackham & Elizabeth Dewhurst (2017).

Junior Good Citizens

Laura Turner (2002), Jonathan Chambers & Claire Rogers (2007), Alice Baillie (2008), Jordan Longshaw, Robin Lemon, Archie Hewitt, Alfie Hewitt (2009), Ryan Howell (2011), Aston Taylor (2012), Shelby Baker (2013), Thomas Kembery (2014), Ellen Nicholas (2015), Owen Leeder (2016), no nominations received in 2017.

Honorary Aldermen

Cyril Grace (2005), Glyn Walden (2012)

Freedom of the Town

The Royal Anglian Regiment (2012)